HOW TO, LIFESTYLE, SELF - DISCOVERY
Leave a Comment

LIFE HACKS FOR YOUR GOALS TOMORROW

Hey friend, feeling a little stuck and low? Living day by day but not really achieving anything that you want to? Does ground hog day feel like a reality? Fear not! Here are some pre-sleep hacks that you can put into place to help you towards achieving your goals tomorrow (just don’t put them off until tomorrow!)

1: CREATE A BEDTIME RITUAL

This is the biggy. It is a final line between a rebellion and claiming that your evenings are ‘you’ time. For you self-confessed night owls (I will happily own this title myself!), refusing to go to bed at a reasonable time because of the time that you dedicate to others, you really aren’t doing yourself any favours. Trust me.

As much as we search for freedom our minds often search for routine. By setting up even the most basic evening routine can set you up for success the next day, here are some ritual suggestions:

Consciously set the time you will go to bed. If you know you need eight hours of sleep, work out what time you need to be in bed to get it! Don’t get distracted by Netflix and don’t go for ‘another 5 mins’, you are only sabotaging yourself. Set your intentions for sleep and do it.

– Turn off the tech 1-2 hours before bed! Seriously, soooo many studies have shown that little blue light from your phones/tablets actually suppress our body’s natural nightly release of melatonin (yep – the deep sleep!). This means that our brain things that it is still day time and good bye sleep.

– Ditch late night snacking and booze so that your body is able to slip easily into sleep mode.

2: GRAB A BOOK

– Studies have shown that even as little as six minutes a day of reading can reduce your stress levels by as much as 68%! Escape into a new world and let your mind unwind. Think of it as unintentional meditation.

3: TAKE A WALK

Having a dog means that I often take a stroll just before hitting the hay and it has become a ritual that I just can’t miss. It really helps me to shake off the day, calm my mind and having some quality time with the pug, who would say no to that!

4: PLAN YOUR DAY THE NIGHT BEFORE

This is one of my newest habits. I plan my next day before it has happened. This helps me to let go of tasks that may have plagued my mind, lest I forget and sets the tone for the day that is coming in. I only spend about 15 minutes doing this and jot down bullet points in a notebook that I always have on me. That way my mind is not clogged with a mental to do list and things don’t get missed. Ta-daaaaa.

5: GET READY AHEAD OF TIME

Another habit I have is to set out my outfit, bag and lunch the night before. I am then not left staring at the wardrobe each morning (how many hours I have stood, staring blankly at that wardrobe…) or scrambling to get my bag ready to dash out the door. Having everything ready that I need is a real time saver and helps keep the mornings relaxed.

6: HAVE A MORNING RITUAL

Snooze buttons. I am looking at you. Hitting that snooze button is really not going to get you an extra ten minutes of sleep. In fact it’s actually doing you harm. This is not rocket science. Get an earlier night and then rise earlier. This will give you time for breakfast, to get ready and do anything else that will help you start your day right. For me it is an early walk by the water, this clears my mind and doesn’t leave me feeling like I have dashed to work straight from bed and ready to conquer my day!

Leave a Reply

