LIFESTYLE, MINDFULNESS + SELF-DISCOVERY
Comment 1

MINDFULNESS: Enjoy some calm

Sat in bold black writing on my goal list is to learn how to meditate. It’s always sounded like something I should do, but I don’t know how to. Those that meditate seem to belong to a very select and zen group that are absolutely in the “know”. It is always in the health mag’s and in my favourite blogs that proclaim (and rather loudly!) that it’s really freakin’ brilliant.

They say you can’t know the peace/awareness/contentment until you do it. My brain drives me mental. I have a very busy mind and one that is quite happy to have races with itself, just around 3am!

“We are what we think, having become what we thought,” – Dhammapada, ancient Buddhist text

 

State of mind. Pretty big subject that. Especially considering that the mind is both the problem and the solution (love that saying). It is not fixed, it is fluid. The idea that we can change how and what we think is something that fascinates me but then the thought of setting by myself with the silence – wishful thinking – of myself is something that has always bothered me about meditation.

It was after a friend brought up the topic of meditation that got me thinking again. Being able to tame my mind for my everyday. Being able to make the saying “you can control how you feel” especially in stressful situations and controlling immediate reactions.

“Meditation, as taught by the Buddha, was a means of taming the mind by bringing the entire range of thoughts, feelings and physical sensations into awareness, making the unconscious conscious.”

 

You know what I mean. Driving can bring many a blood pressure to alarming levels. That comment that is made that hurts and makes you angry. That day at work where you are pretty sure that you shouldn’t have gotten up. These seem like small things but actually add up to a much bigger and much more serious issues. Think trouble sleeping. Losing self-control. Having a drink and wanting much more than one. Emotional eating. Yep. Meditation can help the waistline!

“The everyday mind runs on by itself and more often than not we are at the mercy of our immediate reactions.”

 

So, where am I going with all of this? Well, I have stumbled across a little meditation gem that I had to share with you.

Calm. It is a website/app that I have started to use and love. For someone that cannot deal with a silent mind (and meditation I have found is not actually about silence!) this is perfect. I highly recommend this for people that want to dip their toe into meditation.

Screen Shot 2015-10-13 at 8.37.06 pm

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

